For this Room to Breathe project I researched The Notorious B.I.G.’s style and flow to incorporate them into 2 sonnets. I did this by analyzing each of his songs from his album “Ready to Die” and their lyrics to pick out any repeated words, references and schemes. I found that he uses tricolons often in his music and references other artists from his childhood and from the present 1994 hip-hop scene. Also, he likes to pay homage to where he is from and includes words like “Skelly” which is a street game where you must flick a bottle cap through a drawn course in the street.

Next I had to learn how to write a sonnet. I began my research by learning what a sonnet was and eventually learning about the different kinds and the purpose of a Sonnet. Although since I was using the Sonnet platform even though my content was unorthodox to it’s nature, this is seen as something called “Writing back to the Kingdom”. Finally with a couple of rough quatrains to get into the habit of writing sonnets, I began to write back to the Kingdom.

 

Biggie Sonnet #1: (Elizebeathan)

In the AM I’m bout to cop a brick,

The Ave I pass just as I Grab a Slab.

Yo grab the TEC, and don’t forget the clip,

You got the crack, the MAC, get on the trak.

 

 I feel like King New York; It don’t feel good,

 I leave the hood and head for shaolin Isle, 

 I reminisce, Go back I never would,   

If so, I’ll never see my daughter’s smile.

 

We’re Here! I steer, but then goes pop my ear!

Oh Sh*t! They tryna split?! There goes my clip!

Shots mad like skel’, but we ain’t shootin beer!

Then came my crips, equipped to make em limp!

 

I think that’s it for toting gats and crack, 

Enough with gangs and beams, I’m bout to rap!

 

Biggie Sonnet #2: (Petrarchan)

 

May Twenty-first I’m bout to burst Head-first!

Who knew my destiny was rap and booze?

A teen that’s making scenes and scared to snooze,  

I’m now the best because I was the worst. 

Thirteen I’m slangin green to dopes who thirst, 

But soon I moved to crack and ran with jews.

Sixteen I’m toting tools and left no clues,

Come to the wake with stains all on my shirt   

One Day My Friend and I go see the pen, 

Was there to stay but then he took the ten.

I’m out no doubt I spit just like a spout,

It ain’t enough, so I go call up puff

So Now I’m Mackin, Never Lackin love,

I went from Streets, to diamonds head to feet,

I’m in my dream, Supreme, in all that cream!

 

Using Biggies Style and Flow to Create Hip-Hop Sonnets
Tagged on:                                         

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *